Seasonal Baking with Kids: Lavender Shortbread

Minimal ingredients is key when cooking with kids. These biscuits only need 3 and then the lavender which we picked ourselves. Every month I try to do some cooking with my girls and this usually fits in with the season or celebration such as Easter. I was struggling to come up with an idea then my garden gave me the inspiration I needed.

34372461184_d6a8904eb3_o

This morning, before we were even dressed, we headed out to collect some lavender. Jess and Emily loved pulling off the stalks and collecting them in their bowl. The scent was lovely. I just guesstimated the amount we’d need but a couple of tablespoons of the flowers was plenty.

34829887630_b446c3e448_o

Before the girls got involved, I prepped what we’d need, removed stalks and washed the lavender then weighed out the ingredients

– 175g butter

– 100g caster sugar

– 225g plain flour

Basically I just chucked the butter, sugar and lavender into my food mixer and mixed it well.

35176694846_a44bd67b41_o

Next, I added the flour slowly until it combined into a ball.

After this, I split the mixture and used my hands to make two sausage shapes which I cling filmed and stuck in the freezer for 5 minutes to chill.

35051357482_6d0826bffe_o

Finally, I sliced the ‘sausages’ into rounds and placed on a greased baking tray.

In my oven, they only took about 8 minutes at 180 degrees but just watch them as once they start to cook, they brown quickly.

35216909365_d5fa8d06d3_o

They are delicious according to Emily and I’d say they are not too shabby either. It’s lovely to make something using flowers from our garden.

Do you have any simple seasonal recipes for summer?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Seasonal Baking with Kids: Lavender Shortbread

Add yours

  1. I love shortbread, it’s my favourite! I’ve never made it – I had no idea how easy it is. I’m totally going to try your recipe, I’ll pin it for this weekend. The girls are gorgeous with the lavender. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK

    Like

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

